Actually, no joke, the marachino cherries you put on sundaes really aren’t red. They’re made from cherries like the Queen Anne variety, which are yellow and pink. They are dyed red.
Yes. With the blood of ferrets.
Fact I didn’t just make up, it’s often with insect-derived dyes, which is why some brands are not kosher.
Ferrets are the largest known insect.